Ayn Rand: A Sense of Life — The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Available on


Includes these dialogue excerpts from the original motion picture:
This CD soundtrack from the feature documentary, Ayn Rand: A Sense of Life, features Jeff Britting’s original music from the film, Ayn Rand’s testimony before the House Committee on Un-American Activities, excerpts of narration by Sharon Gless, and dialogue from Ayn Rand’s play Ideal (performed by Janne Peters).

This unique soundtrack also contains two of Ayn Rand’s favorite “tiddlywink” pieces from her private record collection: Canadian Capers and Will o’ the Wisp.


  1. Main Title: “A Sense of Life”
    Narration by Sharon Gless





  2. Family, Youth and Independence

  3. An Adult Entity

  4. “Canadian Capers”
      Music by Gus Chandler, Bert White and Henry Cohen

  5. Cyrus

  6. Revolution, Victor Hugo and God

  7. A Door Opening

  8. Aristotle and Plato
  9. Russia as Hell

  10. A Heart Skipping Beats

  11. Arrival in America, Movies and DeMille

  12. Her Ideal Face: Frank O’Connor

  13. “Benevolent Inevitability”

  14. “Writing Engine”

  15. RKO and the Movie Diary

  16. Ideal: “The Man and the Rock”
      Kay Gonda performed by Janne Peters

  17. The Match King

  18. Woman on Trial

  19. We the Living

  20. Permission Denied, Anthem and the Birth of
        The Fountainhead

  21. Frank Lloyd Wright

  22. H.U.A.C." “A Dubious Undertaking”
       Testimony: Congressman John McDowell and Ayn Rand

  23. The Fountainhead: Novel to Film

  24. Return to New York: Ayn and Frank’s theme

  25. Atlas Shrugged: “The Feminine Roark”

  26. America and “The Problem of Universals”

  27. Non-fiction Marilyn Monroe, Racism, Apollo 11

  28. Non-fiction Marilyn Monroe, Racism, Apollo 11

  29. Man at His Best Narration by Sharon Gless
       End Credits
      “Will O’ the Wisp”
       Music by Herbert Kurster


Inside liner notes art from the CD: This series of photos was taken while Ayn Rand was studying acting at the Cinema Institute in Leningrad, USSR.


Click to buy

Return to Store